Wardrobe

I am swaddled in cardboard and glitter, lying in wait behind the curtains. My costume is a brilliant abomination; it adds a foot in every direction of my body. My bulk topped off with a foot tall wig, stuffed with cotton and adorned with a peacock feather. My face deepened with reds, purples, and a beauty mark the size of the pearls on my collar. A transformation from woman to wardrobe, complete with a opening door filled with prop clothing.

Marie Antoinette had a tryst with IKEA, and birthed me.

I have never felt more joy.

The joy of accepting a fantastic ridiculousness and running freely with every second of it.

A joy shared among me and my counterpart, Emily. Both of us took turns playing Madame de la Grande Bouche (Lady of the Big Mouth). The Madame, now magically transformed into a wardrobe, an old opera singer with delusions of grandeur.

She was amazing, a vision in cardboard. Every single moment she was on stage she demanded attention. I was fully given the excuse to go ham. To let go of all inhibitions and let campy nature flow through. Every hand gesture vain and pointed, singing with my jaw quivering, and eyes completely blank.

I lie in wait behind the curtains, jostled and moved like an unwanted tetris block. To get me anywhere took decent effort, a combination of waddling and pushing. I emerge, feeling light hit me before I see it. I see the coloured lights, and out of the corner of my eye the silhouettes of the audience. They glow. The others on stage glow. The room glows.

Shed thoughts, be here. Enjoy the absurdity.

The scene is simple. The wardrobe attempts to rehearse a solo, while a bemused Belle watches, trying to interrupt in search of food. Went a little something like this:

B:

Excuse me Ma’am?

W:

AAAAAAAAAhhhhaaaAAAAAHHHHHaaaaaaaaaaaaaOOOOOOOOOoooOOoooOoOomamamiaMamamiaMAMAMIA (Big finale) AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.

B:

I’ll… find help myself then.

And then, finding myself abandoned on stage, I belt (with no skill or restraint) “All by Myself” by the great Celine Dion. With a final warbling note, I exit.

There was something about the crowd that night, Saturdays have that magic. As I sunk into my space backstage I hear it.

Applause.

My heart swells; they liked it.

In the dark I smile, too distracted to notice the backstage manager comically trying shove me in my corner of shame so that the next scene can go on.

 

 

 

Gif: https://tenor.com/view/circus-nightmare-creepy-horror-show-gif-5268202

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

6 comments

  1. sydney80 · April 9, 2019 at 8:09 pm ·

    Claire my love,
    This is an absolutely beautiful perspective on what I could only see from far in the back of the gym. The images you created gave me a clear picture of how you felt and where you were (having knowledge of backstage of course 🙂 ) and just how some scenes may have run back there.
    My one critique would be that I would love to have a longer description just to read more about you in this monster of a costume.
    Overall, this is my favourite perspective of the musical I have heard so far and I feel so blessed to be able to read your work. Keep writing!
    Love you,
    Sydney

    • claire351 · April 9, 2019 at 9:10 pm ·

      My dearest Sydney,

      Thank you! I love how I could get another perspective from the same the night that this anecdote was taken from! I really value your advice and comments, so thank you for taking the time to comment!

      Love,

      Claire

  2. Emily07 · April 11, 2019 at 4:01 am ·

    Claire,
    My darling partner in crime, I loved this recalling of that fateful night. It was such an honour to be your counterpart and I could not be more proud of you in all aspects. I was so proud of your performance and I’m really glad you chose to talk about this moment. I love your dedication to the humour and absolute intensity that came along with this wacky character.

    For minor improvements, I would have liked it to be a bit longer as well as more descriptive at some points but I feel that is really all I would improve in this piece. I loved reading this, it was very well done.

    Can’t wait to read more!

    Sincerely, Emily.

    • claire351 · April 13, 2019 at 2:48 am ·

      Emily my babe,

      I love that you were able to read this, and get to share in the kick-assery of the wardrobe with you. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment!

      Love,

      Claire

  3. simranl · April 20, 2019 at 5:27 pm ·

    Hi Claire!
    I loved reading your anecdote from a performers’ perspective, because we as an audience don’t really get to see the behind the scenes and all those magical moments that happen off stage, so I’m glad that you shared this experience. I found this piece overall very elaborate. I can actually picture your costume, what was actually happening in the moment and how you felt , which really made this piece more humorous.

    A slight improvement, could be adding more detail to the actual scene. I think if you were to add stage directions it would help to better picture this scene, but even with that being said, reading that part I can still tell how crazy this character was.

    Overall, this was really well done and I hope to keep reading from you.

    Sincerely, Simran

    • claire351 · April 21, 2019 at 2:33 pm ·

      Dearest Simran,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and thank you for your feed back. It was such an amazing experience, and I’m so happy you enjoyed reading bout it.

      Love,

      Claire